NEWS: The Flaming Lips announce new album for Record Store Day

  • 20 Mar 12

  • News

  • 1 Comment

The Flaming Lips, or, The Band Alec Seems to Write Way Too Much About have a new record coming out this year called “The Flaming Lips and Heavy Fwends”. Marking a change from 2011, which saw the band in a state of practical inertness, seeing them release a paltry 6 EPs, a 24 hour long single and a audio/visual experiment entitled “Two Blobs Fucking”. Those lazy bastards. This new LP (their first since 2009, you know) is set to be released on the Best Day Ever™ (Record Store Day 2012) and features 13 tracks culled from their multitude of collaborations in 2011. Here’s the tracklisting.

01: “2012″ (Feat. Ke$ha & Biz Markie)
02: “Ashes In The Air” (Feat. Bon Iver)
03: “Helping The Retarded To Know God” (Feat. Edward Sharpe And The Magnetic Zeros)
04: “Supermoon Made Me Want To Pee” (Feat. Prefuse 73)
05: “Children Of The Moon” (Feat. Tame Impala)
06: “That Ain’t My Trip” (Feat. Jim James)
07: “You, Man? Human?” (Feat. Nick Cave)
08: “I’m Working At NASA On Acid” (Feat. Lightning Bolt)
09: “Do It!” (Feat. Yoko Ono)
10: “Is David Bowie Dying?” (Feat. Neon Indian)
11: “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face” (Feat. Erykah Badu)
12: “Thunder Drops” (Feat. New Fumes)
13: “I Don’t Want You To Die” (Feat. Chris Martin)

If you haven’t guessed, that’s the vinyl above. Each record will be pressed on entirely unique multi-colour disks and therefore be rarer than a zombie sighting in series 2 of The Walking Dead. No word on how many of these are being made, although we’ve been promised it’ll be very few and it will never be printed again. ISN’T THIS EXCITING?