NEWS: Jens Lekman announces new album, lets you hear “Erica America”

  • 09 Jun 12

  • News


It’s not an easy job making pop music in Sweden, after all, upon arrival it’s far from unusual to be greeted by at least 4 demo tapes from poor, starving pop acts, struggling in a market where Robyn actively beats you if you sell more than 15 copies of your debut album. Jens Lekman is a man who knows this all too well, after gifting the world his good but not great debut and amazing but not perfect sophomore release Night Falls Over Kotedala in 2007 he effectively vanished from the face of the earth, living just outside the earths atmosphere, just beyond the reach of Robyn’s massive fringe. He popped up again in 2011 with the An Argument With Myself EP but it felt as if he had something bigger up his magical Swedish sleeve, an album which he’s christened “I Know What Love Isn’t”. To go alongside this momentous announcement, he’s offering us the crumbs from that album, a deeply Lekman-esque cut entitled Erica America, which you can hear just below a track listing and release date.

01 “Every Little Hair Knows Your Name”
02 “Erica America”
03 “Become Someone Else’s”
04 “Some Dandruff On Your Shoulder”
05 “She Just Don’t Want To Be With You Anymore”
06 “I Want A Pair of Cowboy Boots”
07 “The World Moves On”
08 “The End Of The World Is Bigger Than Love”
09 “I Know What Love Isn’t”
10 “Every Little Hair Knows Your Name”

IKWLI will arrive on the 3rd of September, via Secretly Canadian.