EXCITEMENT: The Flaming Lips announce new LP ‘The Terror’

the flaming lips the terror
  • 26 Jan 13

  • News


If you had to accuse The Flaming Lips of one thing, inactivity would not be one of them. 2011 had them release a mini Zaireeka in the form of the 12 part YouTube experiment ‘Two Blobs Fucking’, an EP with Neon Indian, one with Prefuse 73, another with Lightning Bolt and one more with Yoko Ono – not to mention their 24 Hour Song, Gummy Skull, Gummy Foetus and Strobo Trip releases. 2012 brought the collaboration collection ‘The Flaming Lips and Heady Fwends’ and a whole bunch of miscellaneous fun, and now 2013 is due to bring us their first non collaborative release since 2009’s outstanding ‘Embryonic’, a whole new LP entitled ‘The Terror’, produced by frequent Flaming Lip Dave Friedman. Here’s what Wayne has to say about it, in what may be the finest press release I’ve ever read.

“Why would we make this music that is The Terror– this bleak, disturbing record…?? I don’t really want to know the answer that I think is coming: that WE were hopeless, WE were disturbed and, I think, accepting that some things are hopeless… or letting hope in one area die so that hope can start to live in another?? Maybe this is the beginning of the answer.”

“We want, or wanted, to believe that without love we would disappear, that love, somehow, would save us that, yeah, if we have love, give love and know love, we are truly alive and if there is no love, there would be no life. The Terror is, we know now, that even without love, life goes on… we just go on… there is no mercy killing.”

Alongside that, the band have offered up a non album track (written for a Hyundai advert, no less) called Sun Blows Up Today, available to stream above – presumably omitted from the final tracklisting for not being quite as bleak and disturbing as they’d have liked it to have been. Speaking of tracklistings, here’s The Terror’s.

01 “Look…The Sun Is Rising”
02 “Be Free, A Way”
03 “Try To Explain”
04 “You Lust”
05 “The Terror”
06 “You Are Alone”
07 “Butterfly, How Long It Takes To Die”
08 “Turning Violent”
09 “Always There…In Our Hearts”

The Terror is due on the 1st of April in the UK and the following day in the United States of America. You should probably book a day off, or something.